Manchester City topples Arsenal

Network Corp

Arsenal could not put erase its troubles at Eastlands where it was soundly beaten, 3-0, in their Barclays Premier League match with Manchester City on Saturday.

Gunners boss Arsene Wenger would have been looking to deflect attention from his side's off-the-field problems with a win - but he saw his club go behind on the stroke of half time with a sloppy goal.

Benjani Mwaruwari played a simple ball into the box but Gael Clichy and Mikael Silvestre collided and the ball fell to Stephen Ireland, who tapped home past the onrushing Arsenal captain Manuel Almunia.

The Spanish goalkeeper marked his 100th Gunners appearance by replacing William Gallas as skipper in the wake of the latter's critical comments about the team in midweek.

Robinho latched on to a Shaun Wright-Phillips through ball 10 minutes into the second half and chipped the ball over Almunia to complete the win and heap further pressure on Wenger.

Daniel Sturridge completed the rout in injury time when he calmly slotted home a penalty after being brought down by Johan Djourou in the box.

Liverpool could not find the target at Anfield despite dominating its match with Fulham.

Rafael Benitez's side failed to take advantage of a host of chances either side of halftime and almost went behind on the stroke of halftime through a Jimmy Bullard shot.

Robbie Keane, partnered by the returning Fernando Torres in attack, curled a shot wide in the first half and Dirk Kuyt had the Reds' best chance of the second period but his shot was masterfully saved by Fulham stopper Mark Schwarzer.

Chelsea failed to take advantage of Liverpool's slip up as it could not break down a determined Newcastle at Stamford Bridge.

Frank Lampard had the Blues' best chance of the first half but he could only head an eighth-minute header at Shay Given in the Newcastle goal from a Florent Malouda cross.

Luiz Felipe Scolari brought on Michael Ballack and Salomon Kalou in the second half but they failed to break the deadlock leaving them level on points with Liverpool at the top of the league

Goals from Johan Elmander, Gretar Rafn Steinsson and Matthew Taylor gave Bolton a shock 3-1 win over Middlesbrough at the Riverside.

Gareth Southgate had been looking to extend his side's unbeaten run to six matches but saw them fall behind on eight minutes through Steinsson who then set up Taylor to double the visitors' lead two minutes later.

Boro pulled one back through Emanuel Pogatetz on 78 minutes but Elmander scored his second for the club just one minute later to secure the win.

A late own goal from Noe Pamarot denied Portsmouth all three points as they drew 2-2 with Hull at Fratton Park.

Portsmouth thought they had grabbed all three points when Glen Johnson volleyed a looping 30-yard volley halfway through the second half after Michael Turner had equalized Peter Crouch's opener.

But Pamarot headed the ball into his own net under pressure from Dean Windass with two minutes to go deny to Pompey all three points.

Mamady Sidibe scored a late header to give Stoke a vital win over bottom side West Brom at the Britannia.

Sidibe rose to meet a Danny Higginbotham cross with eight minutes left to head the winner in what was otherwise a largely uneventful match.

History of the English League championship

History of the English League championship
Year       Champion                   Runner-up
---- -------- ---------
2007-2008 Manchester United Chelsea
2006-2007 Manchester United Chelsea
2005-2006 Chelsea Manchester United
2004-2005 Chelsea Arsenal
2003-2004 Arsenal Chelsea
2002-2003 Manchester United Arsenal
2001-2002 Arsenal Liverpool
2000-2001 Manchester United Arsenal
1999-2000 Manchester United Arsenal
1998-99 Manchester United Arsenal
1997-98 Arsenal Manchester United
1996-97 Manchester United Newcastle United
1995-96 Manchester United Newcastle United
1994-95 Blackburn Rovers Manchester United
1993-94 Manchester United Blackburn Rovers
1992-93 Manchester United Aston Villa
1991-92 Leeds United Manchester United
1990-91 Arsenal Liverpool
1989-90 Liverpool Aston Villa
1988-89 Arsenal Liverpool
1987-88 Liverpool Manchester United
1986-87 Everton Liverpool
1984-85 Everton Liverpool
1982-83 Liverpool Watford
1980-81 Aston Villa Ipswich Town
1979-80 Liverpool Manchester United
1978-79 Liverpool Nottingham Forest
1977-78 Nottingham Forest Liverpool
1976-77 Liverpool Manchester City
1975-76 Liverpool Queen's Park Rangers
1974-75 Derby County Liverpool
1973-74 Leeds United Liverpool
1972-73 Liverpool Arsenal
1971-72 Derby County Leeds United
1970-71 Arsenal Leeds United
1969-70 Everton Leeds United
1968-69 Leeds United Liverpool
1967-68 Manchester City Manchester United
1966-67 Manchester United Nottingham Forest
1965-66 Liverpool Leeds United
1964-65 Manchester United Leeds United
1963-64 Liverpool Manchester United
1962-63 Everton Tottenham Hotspur
1961-62 Ipswich Town Burnley FC
1960-61 Tottenham Hotspur Sheffield Wednesday
1959-60 Burnley FC Wolverhampton Wanderers
1958-59 Wolverhampton Wanderers Manchester United
1957-58 Wolverhampton Wanderers Preston North End
1956-57 Manchester United Tottenham Hotspur
1955-56 Manchester United Blackpool FC
1954-55 Chelsea Wolverhampton Wanderers
1953-54 Wolverhampton Wanderers West Bromwich Albion
1952-53 Arsenal Preston North End
1951-52 Manchester United Tottenham Hotspur
1950-51 Tottenham Hotspur Manchester United
1949-50 Portsmouth FC Wolverhampton Wanderers
1948-49 Portsmouth FC Manchester United
1947-48 Arsenal Manchester United
1946-47 Liverpool Manchester United
1940-45 Competitions suspended due to World War 2
1939-40 Blackpool FC Sheffield United
1938-39 Everton Wolverhampton Wanderers
1937-38 Arsenal Wolverhampton Wanderers
1936-37 Manchester City Charlton Athletic
1935-36 Sunderland AFC Derby County
1934-35 Arsenal Sunderland AFC
1933-34 Arsenal Huddersfield Town AFC
1932-33 Arsenal Aston Villa
1931-32 Everton Arsenal
1930-31 Arsenal Aston Villa
1929-30 Sheffield Wednesday Derby County
1928-29 The Wednesday FC Leicester City
1927-28 Everton Huddersfield Town AFC
1926-27 Newcastle United Huddersfield Town AFC
1925-26 Huddersfield Town AFC The Arsenal FC
1924-25 Huddersfield Town AFC West Bromwich Albion
1923-24 Huddersfield Town AFC Cardiff City AFC
1922-23 Liverpool Sunderland AFC
1921-22 Liverpool Tottenham Hotspur
1920-21 Burnley FC Manchester City
1919-20 West Bromwich Albion Burnley FC
1915-19 Competitions suspended due to World War 1
1914-15 Everton Oldham Athletic
1913-14 Blackburn Rovers Aston Villa
1912-13 Sunderland AFC Aston Villa
1911-12 Blackburn Rovers Everton
1910-11 Manchester United Aston Villa
1909-10 Aston Villa Liverpool
1908-09 Newcastle United Everton
1907-08 Manchester United Aston Villa
1906-07 Newcastle United Bristol City
1905-06 Liverpool Preston North End
1904-05 Newcastle United Everton
1903-04 The Wednesday FC Manchester City
1902-03 The Wednesday FC Aston Villa
1901-02 Sunderland AFC Everton
1900-01 Liverpool Sunderland AFC
1899-1900 Aston Villa Sheffield United
1898-1899 Aston Villa Liverpool
1897-1898 Sheffield United Sunderland AFC
1896-1897 Aston Villa Sheffield United
1895-1896 Aston Villa Derby County
1894-1895 Sunderland AFC Everton
1893-1894 Aston Villa Sunderland AFC
1892-1893 Sunderland AFC Preston North End
1891-1892 Sunderland AFC Preston North End
1890-1891 Everton Preston North End
1889-1890 Preston North End Everton
1888-1889 Preston North End Aston Villa